NCMA Certification

Some VERSA-LOK installation training seminars provide you with the option to become a Certified Segmental Retaining Wall Installer (Level 1/Basic) through the National Concrete Masonry Association (NCMA). The certification test is optional and is offered immediately following the seminar. VERSA-LOK instructors have successfully completed NCMA Train-the-Trainer certification and are approved to administer the certification test.

The NCMA segmental retaining wall ( SRW ) program educates installers on the industry standards for installing SRW systems. The VERSA-LOK installation seminar covers all material included on the certification test.


If you plan to take the NCMA Level 1/Basic certification test, bring your payment check, made out to the National Concrete Masonry Association, to the training seminar. Do not mail your test payment to VERSA-LOK or to the manufacturer hosting the training seminar.

Topics covered on the NCMA certification test include:

  • History of SRWs
  • Installation preparation
  • Basic overview of soils, water, and geosynthetics
  • Understanding of construction practices
  • Overview of engineering issues

There is an additional NCMA certification fee, separate from any local VERSA-LOK seminar fee (where applicable), that must be paid directly to the NCMA the day of the seminar. A check or money order is the most common payment method and will be included with your exam and submitted directly to NCMA. Contact the VERSA-LOK manufacturer hosting your seminar if you have any questions about the NCMA Level 1/Basic certification test.